Hair

HEAT DAAMAAAGGEEE!

As I write this I am overwhelmed with emotions I don’t think I’ve ever felt concerning my hair. I can honestly say in my 2 and a half years of wearing my natural hair, I have never felt so upset or frustrated because of it. So much so, I hacked my hair off and I’m here with scalp length hair.

About a week ago, I took my second trip to The Hair Lounge Salon this time to get my hair straightened by a professional for the first time. I know, stupid decision, my brother and my mum have already expressed their distaste for my stubborn reasoning. I did it to try something new and to pick myself up from a really bad cold I was just beginning to recover from.

Now with this being said I had already straightened my hair twice by myself in the past year and a half or so and my hair reverted immediately.

You can check out my previous post to read about how much I love the salon and their services, so I’m gonna charge this mishap to me doing what I knew I shouldn’t have done. However….I knew it wasn’t right when I saw that the professional hair curling tongs set was on and the stylist was waiting for it to get hot to use it on my hair. Then when it did get hot she used it on a small portion of my hair and decided that it wasn’t hot enough and put it back in the little stove pocket thingy and waited for it to get hotter before using it to straighten my whole head of hair. She then followed up with a GHD hair straightener.

temp

I’m not going to lie, I loved the way my hair looked. If not for the rain that messed it up the next day i would have made the most of it.

Heat Damage sign number 2: The burnt smell in my hair that didn’t leave even after I washed my hair a week later…Sigh.

I washed my hair with my Shea Moisture Shampoo and lathered it up three times in my hair I looked in the mirror and saw that one half of my hair reverted and the other half was hanging straight. I decided to deep condition overnight with what was left of my ORS Hair Mayonnaise Treatment. After rinsing in the morning I saw that nothing had changed. I immediately wanted to cry. With no time to do anything to my hair I went to work with my raggedy wash and go.

After work i decided to purchase Aphogee Shampoo for damaged hair and the 2 Minute Keratin Treatment (which by the way both smelled divine). After using the products nothing changed. From that moment I already knew I was gonna cut all of my hair off.

The next morning I woke up at 5 in the morning and proceeded to hack my hair off. And now here I sit with a patchy big chop.

:"(
:”(

I’m going to just go ahead and keep my hair covered up with wigs until further notice because I’m just not a transitioner. I don’t have that kind of patience. I’d rather have short healthy hair than damaged long hair.

Have you ever experienced Heat Damage? What did you do about it? Have you recently Big Chopped from Heat Damage?

Share your experiences with me 🙂 

Leave a Reply

