Culture · Motivation

Monday Motivation: Discovering your Passion

Untitled design

Last week while checking out some of my favourite Youtuber videos I stumbled across a Google hangout recording with the founder and CEO of super successful textured hair subscription box CurlBox, Myleik Teele. It was hosted by personal development coach and entrepreneur Courtney Sanders who is also the creator of Think and Grow Chick.

During the course of the interview which covered all areas of Myleik’s success story from childhood to the present day, Myleik was asked about her passion. Her reply is what really fascinated. She said,

I don’t want this to be taken the wrong way, but Curlbox is not my passion. Curlbox is the vehicle for my passion. I am passionate about women of color, black women. I am passionate about the way things are marketed to us. I am passionate about being a good leader.

Most times we think that our passion is the actual act of what we do, when really our passion is the driving force.

You could probably read hundreds of books, articles and blog posts about how to discover your passion and life’s purpose but what I’ve noticed is that it all boils down to what you may already know about yourself or are finding out about yourself.

During Oprah Winfrey’s “The Life You Want” Tour that she did around the USA last year, one of the many highlights that was pointed out by many was something she said about your life piecing together your purpose. She said,

The ordinary little pieces of your everyday life are creating the purpose for your life, and this purpose is your defining thread that connects the dots of your life.

While listening to a podcast by Courtney Sanders of Think and Grow Chick she mentioned some of the most defining threads of her life that allowed her to see the realisation of her passion and purpose.

It made me think of what the thread of my life so far is telling me about my passion and purpose.

 

I’ve spent roughly the last 5 years trying to figure out what I’m passionate about, trying to do the thing I’m most passionate about. What Myleik said really made me stop in my tracks and think, because my passion is what has been helping me make the decisions I have taken regarding my work life and the driving force behind most of the decisions I make regarding voluntary work. If I use what Myleik has said as a tool to track my passion, I would say that I am passionate about women and children being treated fairly, letting them know that their voices are heard and showing them that they are special and can live to their best potential. This passion has manifested itself in the past 5 years through the time I take to consult and teach people about natural skincare and hair care as a sales assistant for Lush Cosmetics and Neal’s Yard Remedies.

With everything I have learned about natural cosmetics I pride myself in being able to advise and direct women and young girls on the best and safest beauty products and practices for health and wellbeing. I have also noticed how my heart skips a beat whenever a customer is satisfied and excited about trying what I have advised them about. Even more so when they come back to tell me how my advise has made a difference to their lives. I’ve also noticed how excited I get advising women of colour as I know the struggle for us to find what we need in drugstores and beauty counters.

When I feel fed up or I’m having a bad day, these are the things that motivate me and keep me going, the paycheck of the heart, my passion.

Even in church, being a Sunday school teacher and a youth leader I don’t get paid like I do at work. I don’t expect anything in my bank account every month, but the fact that I get to contribute towards the voices of the youth and the children being heard and being able to share my knowledge with them is what motivates me. It makes me put in extra effort when no one is around, it makes me sit in meetings while everyone else is going home trying to plan ways to encourage and empower the youth and the children as well as being creative with ways of sharing the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

My passion is the same reason I studied Journalism as far as I have. I want to be able to communicate with people around the world and share stories of and with women and children, to let them know that anything they set their minds to do is achievable. The same way I want to be able to teach people something new every time they come across me is the same way I want to learn something new with every encounter with others.

Even taking Courtney of Think and Grow Chick as an example, not only did she take the time to conduct the interview for thousands of people to watch and learn but she also took the time to transcribe the interview for anyone who was interested in having a written copy of the interview. The commitment she shows towards creating content for women around the world to learn, grow and be accountable for their dreams and goals shows her passion for personal development.

Your passion is what makes you put in extra time when no one is around and your passion is what makes you wake up early to get a head start on your projects.

We’re all passionate about something and we can all turn our passion into a business. The key is to bring your passion to the surface.

 

Leave a Reply

