Lifestyle · Motivation

June Action Plan Update

Now that the month is over I can talk more about what went well, what didn’t and what I learned while accomplishing my June Action Plan.

June Action Plan

How did it go?

As far as waking up at 6am to pray and meditate that went well for a week or two. The main reason it didn’t go well was down to the fact that I always wake up and pick up my phone and get on with my day. The days that I started with prayer and meditation was very helpful in keeping my spirit uplifted and therefore making me very productive as the day went on. This is not to say that all other days weren’t productive, because the past two weeks have been extremely busy and productive, but praying and meditating helped to keep me in a positive mind space and not feel so overwhelmed.

As for sleeping at 10pm, that didn’t happen due to the long walks I like to take on my way home from work. I tend to use that time to unwind and gain a clear mind. I’m someone that loves to walk, so if I know I can walk somewhere no matter the distance, I’ll walk. This meant that when I got home I would sit in my room, play on my phone and then take a shower and get back on my phone until I fell asleep.

I didn’t complete the blogilates challenge. However, I worked out 3 times a week using 30 minute workout videos on Youtube, mainly Pop Sugar Fitness videos or my Jeanette Jenkins Ab-Sculpt DVD.

I was successful in drinking 2 litres of water a day and when I didn’t I usually drank 1.5 litres a day.I attribute this to the fact that I kept a litre water bottle with me everyday and was able to keep track of what I drank by how many times I refilled the bottle.

I also succeeded in being more mindful of what I was eating. With my intense workouts and my increased water in take I wanted to make sure I wasn’t messing up my progress by eating a whole bunch of junk. That’s not to say I wasn’t enjoying my sweets and chocolates, burgers and chips from time to time (Rome wasn’t built in a day), but I can see the progress I’m making with food and planning my meals ahead of time, mostly due to cooking meals from scratch at home.

I was deep conditioning my hair twice a week up until 2 weeks ago when I got my hair done in a crochet braid protective style. I decided to protective style due to my schedule getting much busier. I didn’t want to neglect my hair so I had to make the decision to do what was best to ensure my hair says healthy and taken care of.

I successfully finished reading #GirlBoss by Sophia Amoruso, I literally couldn’t put the book down. I read it cover to cover and highlighted some great things in there. I may do a book review if anyone is interested. I am still yet to finish reading Mastery and that is down to pure laziness. And as for 9 Steps to Work Less and Do More, it’s the kind of book I can only read chapter by chapter as a reference whenever I need help with something.

Well, we all know how the blogging 3x a week went, and once again that was down to a combination of laziness and tiredness.

What I’ve Learned

When it comes to sleeping at 10pm and waking up at 6am successfully, that would mean that I have to completely switch off and be disciplined in my morning routine. I would need to selfishly and apologetically see this as taking quiet time for myself and use it as my time to pour back into myself so I don’t burn myself out. The main culprit in keeping me from this is my phone. In the past month I have spent lunch breaks at work away from my phone, this gave me time to read, relax and reflect in a really peaceful way. I tend to use my phone to do everything from listen to music, to watch movies as well as spend all sorts of unnecessary time on social media. I literally have to leave my phone alone between 6am and 8am to successfully go through my morning routine of prayer, meditation, exercise and breakfast before picking up my phone. Then at night once I come home from work, and if I don’t go to work from the time I make dinner, I put my phone away and unwind and get ready for bed and the next day.

I have leanred that What I do when I wake up and before I sleep tends to determine how well I sleep and how productive I am during the day. It is all in my mind, it’s a thought process of switching on and switching off.

I wrote a post on planning that best highlights the importance and benefits of planning ahead. These are benefits I experienced with my eating well and drinking water, completing #Girlboss and working out.

I know that I need to get better at consistently doing what I know I need to do. I can’t just do what is right once or twice and feel accomplished and then revert back to my old ways. I have to get to a place where I enjoy the feeling of accomplishment so much that I don’t want to stop rather than thinking “Oh well I’ve done it, now I can relax”. This will only come through discipline.

What are some of your best tips for being more consistent and disciplined?

Leave a Reply

