Lifestyle · Motivation

Sunday Musings: Goals!

image

A goal is a dream with a deadline! I’ve seen that saying so many times I’ve taken it for granted. Well at least until recently.

Last year I told my family I wanted to travel for my 25th birthday and ideally spend my 25th birthday in another country.

I came to this decision since I’ve always wanted to travel around the world. From the time I was a baby my parents have made family vacations a ritual. I’ve travel to Egypt, Thailand, Dubai, France, Nigeria and across the UK almost yearly and sometimes twice in a year. Because of them I’ve always had an intrigue about the world and exploring what it has to offer.

The last major holiday I took was in 2011 for a family trip to Nigeria after my bachelors graduation. I told myself then that I wanted to see more countries either in my own or with friends as well as with family.

After I told my parents of my 25th celebration plans, they quickly got excited and began planning for a two week trip to Dubai and Thailand. My intention was to go with friends but with my parents’ excitement I couldn’t shut them down.

Now here we are less than a year later on the vacation we planned.

Looking back I can honestly say that if they had not started planning and worked out a payment plan for me to stick to to pay off my portion of the holiday I probably wouldn’t be here right now.

I’m reminded of the scripture from Jeremiah 29:11 that says:
For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.

We all have dreams and plans for where we want to be a year from now, a week from now and even tomorrow. The difference between achievement and disappointment is preparation.  When you are prepared to arrive at your destination it doesn’t matter if it works out the way you want it because you have welcomed the opportunity to acieve your dream. You even end up experiencing something way better than you had even planned.

So as we end this week, prepare yourself for the opportunity of a lifetime by setting achievable goals to get to where you want to be. Use your quiet time to put things into perspective and make a workable plan for what you want to accomplish this coming week.
I’m sure you won’t regret it.

Share with me how you plan your week ahead. I would love to learn new ways to achieve my goals.

Leave a Reply

