Lifestyle · Motivation

Sunday Musings: A Cheerful Disposition

image

“A glad heart makes a cheerful face, but by sorrow of heart the spirit is crushed.” Proverbs 15:13

In the past 2 weeks I have been to 4 countries. From France to Belgium and Dubai to Thailand. Needless to say I’ve been having the time of my life and it has really re-awakended my love for travelling the world and meeting new people and experiencing different cultures.

As I begin to prepare to go back home, I can’t help but think over all the hospitality that I have been shown. Most especially in Thailand (Bangkok and Pattaya) being that I spent the most time in those places. It has really intrigued me that the natives have such a cheerful disposition about life.  Everyone from the bell hop to the receptionist, the hosts and hostesses to the cleaners, they all have such a pleasant outlook on life.

Everyone I have come across has been so happy to see me and get to know me. They have all been so enthusiastic about the days ahead, despite the fact that while I was in Bangkok there was a bomb attack and the police quickly diffused another bomb shortly after. This negative turn of events didn’t change the peace and happiness amongst the people I came in contact with on a daily basis. For this reason, I too was at peace and felt safe.

Everyone I met wasn’t living a luxurious life by the world’s standards, however they are all living rich and joyful lives because of their outlook and it all starts and ends with their cheerful disposition.

It really got me thinking that, what if I made a decision every day to just be cheerful and enthusiastic about the day ahead of me?

Being on holiday naturally puts people in a good mood. Knowing that you will wake up every morning in some sort of paradise and not have to rush to do anything and have full confidence that you can go out all day and return to a clean and tidy room with fresh bedding and towels. However, as I prepare to check back into my reality and go back home I want to be just as cheerful as the people I leave behind and not wait until my next holiday to be enthusiastic about life.

Have you noticed how happy you look when you are cheerful and how light your heart feels? But when you are angry or unhappy your spirit feels crushed and you have no real explanation for it.

You don’t have to wait for something to happen before you choose to be cheerful. Being cheerful means you are noticeably optimistic, bright, exuberant and in good spirits. Cheerfulness attracts opportunity as it makes others intrigued and willing to be around you.

As you prepare for a new week, choose to be cheerful. Decide that you want to be optimistic and cause positivity to be attracted to your being and  it allow negativity to happen to or around you.

When was the last time you were cheerful for no particular reason? What was the outcome?

Leave a Reply

