Motivation

Monday Motivation: Making your experience work for you

 

global warming

I hope to make this as short and sweet as possible and not ramble on since this is something that is fresh in my mind.

Just yesterday I was talking to a work colleague about how she has dropped out of university after realising that what she studied isn’t what she truly wants to go into due to some not so great experiences with tutors, workload, school work miscommunication and work experience.

With all she had said I could see that she had given it her best effort and had come to a genuine decision that it wasn’t for her. She had concluded that she may choose a different course and get a degree just to have one.

The discussion got me thinking about the thread of my life as discussed in a previous post. I was thinking about my bachelors and masters degree in journalism and how I feel at times I got my degrees just to get them (mainly because I’m not currently working as a full time journalist). I shared with my colleague how I too have been thinking deeply about what direction I want my life to go in and whether I will give being a professional full time journalist the attention and dedication that it needs, being that this day in age is all about how many followers, likes and shares you have on social media (especially in the media and arts industry). I also shared with her that whatever I do, I would feel most fulfilled if I have sole control over the content i produce and managing my own schedule and how my desire is to not work for anyone but rather work with and collaborate with people I admire.

As the conversation ended and we both went our separate ways I began to think about my CV. Just as I thought about the thread of my life, I looked at my CV in the same way. I began to think, “In order for me to live the life I feel i deserve and enjoy, how can I make all the things I’ve already done come together to work for me.”

Whenever I think of the direction of my life and where I’m heading I always think of picking up a new course to gain some sort of superior knowledge so I’m not looked down upon in a certain industry. However, I’ve realised that at some point I’m going to have to qualify myself. The value you may want someone else to place on you as an expert in your field, you will first have to place it on yourself. The experience I already have in media and journalism is enough to take me to where I want to get to. That’s not to say that I will stop learning. As the world is advancing day by day, there will always be something new to learn to help advance your industry and give you knowledge to place you a notch above the rest. However, making your work and educational experience work for you means putting together the knowledge and perspective you already have to put yourself in your own lane to cross you over from your point A to your point B.

I don’t know what you may be going through right now, or if you may be feeling stuck or lost and are looking for a sense of direction like myself. But, maybe it’s time to look at what you already have and making it work for you so you can start creating whatever you think is missing in your life, your industry or the world.

You have a unique, one of a kind perspective that has been created by all of your experiences. The world needs that and it’s waiting for your contribution.

Leave a Reply

