Lifestyle · Motivation

Monday Motivation: Overcoming Fear


Have you ever felt that crippling feeling that has your tummy twisting in knots and your legs losing all their feeling as you revise every possible scenario of what could go wrong and how badly you’ll come out of it? That my friends is the overwhelming feeling of fear.

Overcoming Fear and being courageous is something I’m all too familiar with. Fear is something I’ve struggled with for as long as I can remember. The crazy thing about it is I didn’t know it until very recently. 

I had to come to the realisation that I’ve been afraid of letting people down. I’ve been afraid of my dreams being too big that I would let myself down. Not realising that the purpose of life is to be lived as a testimony for something much bigger than ourselves. 
I’ve always projected my fear as timing not being right or not bring prepared/fully equipped or being a perfectionist when in reality I was just afraid.

Whenever it was time for me to take centre stage and make mt dreams a reality by honouring and obeying the vision, plan and word of God for my life I would take extra long preparing. Now there is nothing wrong in preparation because if you stay ready you don’t have to get ready, but my problem was that I would stay in preparation phase for so long that I would let doubt set in. That doubt would have me questioning whether I’m good enough, asking myself why would anyone want to hear what I have to say, thinking that there are hundreds of thousands of other people out there who are more qualified, more quirky and interesting than me that could deliver the message I felt compelled to pass across.  

I started blogging as a way for me to share the things I’m interested in with the hope of creating a portfolio that would set me on the path to long lasting career in media and creating content I’m passionate about. Between the time I started and now, a lot has changed and I’m more focused and know what I want and need to talk about. However, the more focused I’ve become the more I’ve let fear creep in and sabotage my efforts. 

I’ve realised that the fear I’ve experienced is based on scenarios that don’t even exist. This fear is a stronghold that opens me up to doubt and gives birth to self sabotage and leaves me stagnant. But I’m reminded of the word of God that says  

For God has not given us the spirit of fear but of power and of love and of a sound mind (2 Timothy 1:7)

Now because of this realisation I’ve been able to take steps to being more courageous. It’s funny because somewhere in the back of my mind I’ve known this all along. However, I now realise that overcoming Fear is something you do while your still afraid. Or is that not the point of overcoming/conquering in the first place.

overcome

əʊvəˈkʌm/

verb

  1. succeed in dealing with (a problem or difficulty).

    “he overcame his pain for a time”

    synonyms: get the better of, prevail over, control,get control of, get/bring under control,bridletamemastergain mastery over,deal with, conquerdefeatvanquish,beatsolvetriumph over, bestworst,overpoweroverwhelm; More

I could compile a list of things to do in order to overcome your fears, but there is only one way which is most important and that’s just doing what you need to do in the midst of your fear. 

The funny thing about overcoming is that you never really get over the fear before you reach your goal. You have to pass through the fear because being courageous requires you to stand for what you believe in the face of adversity. That then becomes the word of your testimony.

Philippians 4:13 I can do all things through Christ that strengthens me

I’ve been able to recognise my fear and be bold in spite of it. 

Whatever fear you are battling with today I pray that you can stand in the midst of it and be more than a conquerer. Your fear is distracting you from living in the light of your purpose and God’s plan for your life. Whether it be at your place of work, starting a new venture, honouring the peace in your heart about a decision that needs to be made or whatever you’re going through, command that fear to go and be set free and move forward. Don’t allow that fear to keep you stagnant 

Now I’m not saying it will be easy, but it will be worth it.

Leave a Reply

