Beauty

Shea Moisture Coconut and Hibiscus Curl Enhancing Smoothie Review

ORIGINALLY WRITTEN IN SEPTEMBER 2014

There aren’t very many curl enhancing products that I’m drawn to. I pretty much feel that water and a good gel can enhance and curl pattern that is genetically pre-disposed into the hair follicle. I’m also of the belief that technique gives definition to hair that may not have much curl pattern, not products.

With that being said, nothing stopped me from trying the Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie. In fact, it was between this product and the Curl Soufflé and I chose the Smoothie since I prefer creams to gels.

Ingredients

Deionized Water, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Cocos Nucifera Oil (Coconut), Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Persea Gratissima Oil (Avocado), Vegetable Glycerin, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Silk Protein, Ammonium Salt, Melia Azadirachta Seed Oil (Neem), Daucus Carota Sativa Seed Oil (Carrot), Sorbitol Esters, Panthenol (Pro-Vitamin B-5), Caprylyl Glycol, Essential Oil Blend, Lonicera Caprifolium Flower and Lonicera Japonica Flower Extract (Honeysuckle and Japanese Honeysuckle), Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Hibiscus Flower Extract

What does it say it does?

Thick, curly hair. Anti-frizz, moisture & shine. Sulfate-free & color-safe.

SheaMoisture Coconut & Hibiscus Curl Enhancing Smoothie defines curls, reduces frizz and smoothes hair for a soft, silky feel.

Benefits

Coconut oil hydrates and protects hair while reducing breakage. Silk protein smoothes hair for a soft, silky feel. Neem oil controls frizz while adding brilliant shine.

Nutrient-rich vegetable butters condition hair without weighing it down for bouncy, healthy curls.

How did it work in my hair?

This particular product was very hit or miss with me. As much as I adore the scent of the product, I have to be careful with the way I use it and not just slather it on my hair at any given moment.

The Smoothie works best in my hair when it was damp from being freshly washed and scrunched dry in my towel, had my leave in applied to my hair and ready for styling. The times that I have used it on dry hair, it has flaked like a dandruff snow storm and left white particles all over my hair. Although it leaves my hair soft regardless, white flakes in your hair isn’t a good look. I have also found that since cutting out the dye from my hair the product works a lot better and it doesn’t flake. It also leaves my hair soft for a long time. I even experimented with it as a re-styler since cutting my hair and I love the results every time. It gives my hair great shine as well. And the softness doesn’t wear out no matter how much my hands are in my hair.

However despite this, I still may think twice before buying it again since I would like to try some other curl enhancing products for my twist outs, especially since its £12.99 sitting next to products that are £6.99 that may give me the same results.

Verdict

Affordability: 3/5

Effectiveness: 3/5

Consistency: 2.5/5

Disclaimer: As I’m sure you all know, just because something works for me, that doesn’t mean that it will work for you and your hair. Please consider the ingredients in the product and whether your hair agrees with them. Also be cautious of any allergies to any ingredients that could be used in a product before making a purchase.

Leave a Reply

