Beauty

Felicia Leatherwood Detangling Brush

ORIGINALLY WRITTEN IN SEPTEMBER 2014

We all know that it is well advised for Type 4 hair to be finger detangled and to steer clear of combs and brushes that can break our fragile coils. However, I’m one of those 4C hair girls that don’t have a lot of patience when it comes to detangling my hair.

In the past two years of being natural I have had my fair share of battles with tangles and single strand knots. I’ve learned over time to be more delicate with my hair when detangling. I’ve tried finger detangling with success and failure and I’ve also tried Denman Brushes and wide tooth combs with more success and failures. I am yet to find a brush or comb that I can really stick with and rely on. That is until now.

While at this year’s Curlvolution natural hair show the vendors got an opportunity to promote their stalls. The wonderful ladies of Mane Divas got on stage and I was introduced to The Felicia Leatherwood Detangling Brush.

The brush that was created for natural hair stylist Felica Leatherwood (popularly known for her work with the likes of actress Teyonah Parris and singer Jill Scott amongst others) is created with a similar design of the Denman Brush in its moderated separated teeth design. The awesome thing about this brush is that each row of teeth separates in order to detangle knots with ease.

I have been using this brush on my last couple of wash days to detangle my hair after conditioning it as well as for re-twisting my hair in between wash days. It works great on both dry hair and damp hair and has made the maintenance of my hair so much easier.

Have you tried this brush? What’s your experience with it? What’s your favourite/preferred styling and detangling tool/method?

Leave a Reply

