Beauty

Shea Moisture Deep Treatment Masque Review

ORIGINALLY WRITTEN IN SEPTEMBER 2014

From the moment my healthy hair journey started I had my sights set on Shea Moisture products. With many of my natural counterparts in the States raving about how great the products were and making them automatic staples in their regimens, I knew that I had to at least try it for myself.

Being in the UK, London to be precise, we tend to have fairly good access to popular products from across the pond as well as amazing products that are very popular over here. Only being a baby in my hair journey I’m sure there are a heap of other products I’m still yet to discover. Until then I’m glad to say that Shea Moisture is a range of products that became staples in my regimen just like the other naturalistas I followed such as ‘Hey Fan Hey’ in the beginning of my journey.

I got a chance to try the Deep Treatment Masque after purchasing it only a couple of short months ago when I decided to part with my £12.99 and see what the hype was behind this product.

Ingredients

Deionized Water, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter)*, Argan Oil, Vegetable Glycerin, Emulsifying Wax, Sea Kelp Extract, Panthenol (Vitamin B‐5), Essential Oil Blend, Avocado Oil, Lonicera Caprifolium (Honeysuckle) Flower (and) Lonicera Japonica (Japanese Honeysuckle) Flower extract, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Hyssopus Officinalis Extract, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Leaf and Equisetum Arvense Extract, Soybean Oil, Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot) Seed Oil.
*Certified Organic Ingredient

What it says it does?

SheaMoisture Raw Shea Butter Deep Treatment Masque is an all-natural intensive treatment masque that deeply moisturizes and repairs dry, damaged or over-processed hair. It is perfect for transitioning chemically treated hair to natural.

Benefits

It has sea kelp for mineral-rich nutrition those seals and smoothes hair cuticles. Argan oil restores shine while helping promote hair elasticity. Shea butter deeply moisturizes while conditioning hair and scalp. Vegetable Glycerin is natural humectant that attracts moisture from the air into your hair.

How it worked in my hair?

Initially I used it as a deep treatment with a hooded dryer for 15 minutes after shampooing my hair. It didn’t provide me with the slip that I’m used to with my coveted ORS Replenishing Conditioner but it did leave my hair feeling soft and made detangling easy.

On a separate occasion I used it without heat but instead with a shower cap covering my hair for 30 minutes. I found this way to be most convenient for me as it allowed me to do other things around the house. I was especially surprised to see that it gave the same results as I had when I used heat to deep condition.

I then used the masque as a styling product and got the best results using it that way. It left my hair super soft and shinier that it did when I used it as a deep conditioner.

All in all I can’t say that the Shea Moisture Deep Treatment Masque is my favourite deep conditioner. However, I love the fact that because of the natural ingredients in the products I can find so many uses for them to ensure my hair retains maximum moisture levels. I love a hair product that I can find more than one use for.

Verdict

Affordability: 3/5

Effectiveness: 5/5

Consistency: 5/5

Disclaimer: As I’m sure you all know, just because something works for me that doesn’t mean that it will work for you and your hair. Please consider the ingredients in the product and whether your hair agrees with them. Also be cautious of any allergies to any ingredients that could be used in a product before making a purchase.

Leave a Reply

