Beauty

Shea Moisture Restorative Conditioner Review

ORIGINALLY WRITTEN IN SEPTEMBER 2014

Around this time last year a close friend of mine went to Las Vegas and being that Shea Moisture wasn’t yet available to purchase in stores in London, when she asked me what she should bring back for me it was a no-brainer.

Having used this product for long enough I thought it was definitely due a product review.

Ingredients

Deionized water, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea butter)*, Argan Oil, Coconut Oil*, Behentrimonium Chloride, Essential Oil Blend, Vegetable Glycerin, Emulsifying Wax, Sea Kelp Extract, Panthenol (Vitamin B-5), Avocado Oil, Lonicera Caprifolium (Honeysuckle) Flower (and) Lonicera Japonica (Japanese Honeysuckle) Flower Extract, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot) Seed Oil
*Certified Organic Ingredients

Ingredient Attributes: moisture, frizz control, no silicones, anti-humectant

What it says it does?

This product was made for dry, damaged hair to heal, grow and strengthen. The conditioner can be used as a leave-in or rinse out conditioner to detangle, moisturise, repair and restore life-less hair, damaged hair.

Benefits

The conditioner has sea kelp which is a mineral-rich nutrient that smoothes and seals the hair cuticles. It also has Argan oil which is high in vitamin E and gives hair shine and promotes its elasticity. As the name states it has Shea Butter which deeply moisturises and conditions the hair and scalp.

How did it work on my hair?

If I could say that there was one thing that has been established since paying close attention to my hair, it would be that it loves light products that don’t weight it down but still ensure high levels of moisture. If there was ever a product that did just that to my hair and changed the way I looked at every other product I put in my hair, it’s this one.

Shea Moisture Restorative Conditioner left my hair feeling amazing from first use. Whether I used it as a deep conditioner for 5-15 minutes, a co-wash or, or a leave in conditioner.

I initially used this product while I had dye in my hair and I was extra cautious about keeping my hair moisturised so I didn’t have to feel that dry brittle feeling that most people feel after dying their hair. This product kept my hair feeling silky smooth, especially when I used it as a leave in conditioner before styling my hair in a twist-out. It also serves very well as part of my LCO (Liquid-Cream-Oil) sealing method. I usually use it as the “liquid” part of that method as it is based with deionised water. It smoothes on the hair with a light, creamy consistency making it easy apply on the hair.

Even now that I have completely cut out all of the colour from my hair I still get the exact same results with it. I generally like to use products that are for damaged, dry hair even though I no longer us dye in my hair. Due to constantly styling my hair and always having my hands in my hair in complete admiration I still go for these kinds of products to ensure I’m giving my hair all the moisture it needs.

Retailing at £12.99 at all UK Stockists it can be a bit pricey for some. However, I will say that when you have the money it is worth every penny.

This product holds a special place in my heart (and my product stash) and I’m sure it forever will.

Verdict

Affordability: 3/5

Effectiveness: 5/5

Consistency: 5/5

Disclaimer: As I’m sure you all know, just because something works for me that doesn’t mean that it will work for you and your hair. Please consider the ingredients in the product and whether your hair agrees with them. Also be cautious of any allergies to any ingredients that could be used in a product before making a purchase.

Leave a Reply

