Beauty

Jamaican Black Castor Oil (with Shea Butter) Shampoo and Conditioner Review

 ORIGINALLY WRITTEN IN NOVEMBER 2014

I got hold of this product while at the 2014 Curlvolution from Mane Divas. I had seen this product around for a while, especially while shopping for my Jamaican Black Castor Oil. I never really gave much thought to whether the products were good or bad, I usually just walked past them. So, when I asked for a good shampoo and conditioner to detangle my hair, combat dryness and give a good wash from the lovely ladies of Mane Divas and was advised to use this range I just rolled with their advice.

At the time I had braids in, so I couldn’t run home and try them. However, a week later when I took out my braids I dived straight into the shampoo and conditioner and was in for a great surprise.

Ingredients

Shampoo: Jamaican Black Castor Oil, Pimento Oil, Aloe Vera, Lavender, Rosemary Extract, Shea Butter, Organic Saponified Oils of Coconut, Olive, Jojoba, Vegetable Gum, Glycerin Extract

Conditioner: Organic Aloe Juice, Jamaican Black Castor Oil, Rosemary Extract, Stearalkonium, Chloride Phenoxyethanol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Pimento, Bay, Basil and Cedar wood, Cypress, Grapefruit, Geranium, Lavender Essential Oils, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, DL-Panthenol (Pro Vitamin B5)

What it says it does?

Benefits

Jamaican Black Castor oil is known to be more effective than clear pharmacy castor oil due to the ashes content from the roasting of the beans. It prevents hair breakage, damage, eczema and dry itchy scalp. It also moisturises, strengthens, thickens and rapidly improves hair growth.

Aloe Vera easily penetrates the hair and scalp as well as promotes growth, relieves itchy scalp, reduces redness and inflammation, is ph balancing, help retain water and moisture and adds strength and lustre to the hair.

Rosemary helps to stimulate follicles for hair growth when used regularly. It also nourishes the scalp and removes dandruff.

Lavender is soothing for the scalp and skin conditioning for dry scalp, dandruff and a great stimulant to reduce hair loss caused by anxiety, stress or depression due to its stress relieving properties.

Shea Butter is deeply moisturising and conditioning for the hair and scalp.

Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein is a moisturising and conditioning protein derived from whole wheat. It attracts and retains moisture, builds body, reduces porosity, improves hair manageability and improves shine and luster in hair.

DL-Panthenol which is derived from Pro Vitamin B5, acts as a humectant and a sealant for the hair. It coats the hair smoothing the cuticles down as well as draws moisture into the hair giving it shine.

How did it work in my hair?

The products did exactly what I was told they would do. The Shampoo left my hair extremely soft and very well cleansed after one use. This is big for me since shampoos either leave my hair squeaky clean and a little dry or not very clean but soft.

As for the conditioner, the first two times I used it I wasn’t sure if it was a deep conditioner or leave in so I used it with a shower cap without heat for 30 minutes and rinsed it out.  It made my hair very easy to detangle and style. Out of curiosity I went on the website to double check if I was using it correctly and I saw that the directions instructed to use it after shampooing. I then took this to mean that it was a leave in and used it as a leave in only to get better results.

I’ll certainly be using the conditioner as a leave in from now on, however, it is also great to know that I could use it as a deep conditioner. As much as I want to try other shampoos to see if there is one that can top this one, it is won its way into my heart and I can definitely see myself buying both products again when they run out.

If you are protein sensitive I would suggest that you don’t use these products. If not then they are definitely worth a try. The ingredients are really great. I have also noticed more shine in my hair and a softer feel to my hair as well since using these products.

Verdict

Affordability: 3/5

Effectiveness: 5/5

Consistency: 5/5

Disclaimer: As I’m sure you all know, just because something works for me that doesn’t mean that it will work for you and your hair. Please consider the ingredients in the product and whether your hair agrees with them. Also be cautious of any allergies to any ingredients that could be used in a product before making a purchase.

Leave a Reply

