Beauty · Hair

Mahogany Naturals Full Review

As promised, here is the full review of the Mahogany Naturals Hair care products I briefly touched on a couple of months ago.

Over the Summer, Mahogany Naturals posted on Instagram that they were having a flash sale with 50% off on all products.  Having heard amazing rings about the line over the course of my natural hair journey I decided to take advantage of the discount and try out some products that have stood out to me for a while. 

I purchased the Apple Cider Vinegar Shampoo, Daily Moisturising Leave In Spray, Brazilian Butter Damage Reverse Treatment and the Hair Growth and Thickening Elixir. 

I chose these products because I wanted to try products that fitnseamslessly into my usual hair cleansing and styling routine. 

Apple Cider Vinegar Shampoo 

When I first heard of the shampoo years ago, it was a solid shampoo bar. Now that the shampoo bar has been discontinued and the brand itself has been rebounded, I was still interested in using apple cider vinegar as a shampoo 

What it says it does?

Our darling shampoo with happy scalp ingredients will gently cleanse your hair, balance the scalp smooth cuticles and remove buildup. It prepares the hair for conditioning treatments.

  • Cleanses scalp and remove built-up
  • Balanced PH of scalp
  • Removes dandruff
  • Soothes itchy scalps
  • Helps define curls

Ingredients– apple cider vinegar, avena sativa (oats), palm Kernel extract(organic), shea butter, Argan oil( argania spinose), Quillaja saoniaria (soapbark), sodium bicarbonate, decyl 
glucoside(coconut based cleanser, glyceryl stearate (glycerine derived), optiphen.

250ml

How did it work with my hair?
The consistency is quite runny and the shampooing itself doesn’t lather so it took some getting used to. However, the shampoo did indeed cleanse my hair and scalp so thoroughly without stripping it of any moisture.  It left my hair soft and shiny. My scalp felt fresh, soothed and clean.

5/5

Brazilian Butter Damage Reverse Treatment 

I personally love deep conditioner treatments for their repairing and balancing abilities. I also love deep conditioners that offer a buttery, creamy slip so this purchase was a no brained for me.

What it says it does

Give your hair a new lease of life. After just one use.your hair will be dramatically restored full of lustre, life and bounce. hair is smooth, soft, shiny and a lot more manageable. This is an amazing treatment for really dry, damaged and colour treated hair. Use before of after shampoo on wet hair for 30 minutes or longer if needed cover with a plastic cap for better penetration .

Product can get darker as time goes by.it does not affect the performance of the product in fact it makes it even better similar to next day cooking it tastes better than when it was cooked because the ingredients have settled in nicely.

  • Repairs damaged hair
  • Hydrates hair
  • Restores over-processed hair
  • Perfect for colour treated hair
  • Volumises dry hair
  • Ingredients 


Brazilian nut butter,organic cocoa butter,shea butter,agave nectar, molasses,Organic Aloe vera,vegetable glycerin,Avocado oil,organic coconut oil,Castor oil,Hemp seed oil,Emu oil,Macadamia, oil Rosemary, Emulsifyer,Guar

250ml

How did it work with my hair?

I absolutely love this treatment! I can’t say it enough. I used it a number of ways. From leaving it to sit under a plastic cap for hours at a time, leaving it in my hair overnight, to sitting under my dryer for only 10 minutes while it heats up and works into the hair shaft. Every time it was and winner and did what it promised to do.  It made detangling a breeze and it smells gorgeous.

5/5

Daily Moisturising Leave In Treatment 

I’ve had a very love/hate relationship with Leave-in sprays over the years, however when making the purchase I decided to give it a try due to the wonderful benefits it listed.

What it says it does 

  • A light, very moisturising daily leave in spray,nourishes hair with moisture and shine.
  • Protects hair from harsh weather and keeps it at optimum health
  • Helps repair damaged weak hair strands and hair follicles
  • Great detangler& PH Balanced
  • Sun protection for your hair
  • Great for promoting healthy scalp
  • Great for when your hair is in braids and twists
  • Contains – ( Aloe Barbadensis) Aloe vera,vegetable glycerin,( Tocopherol )vitamin E, (Cocos nucifera )coconut oil,silk amino acid,mango and grapefruit essential oils
  • keeps your hair smelling great all day
  • 250ml

 

How did it work with my hair?

I feel like the leave in treatment did what it was supposed to do, however it wasn’t my favourite. I can’t 100% say that it moisturised my hair as much as I would like it to as I would layer it with different products and I didn’t really use it to refresh or reset any styles while using it. I tended to use it straight after washing my hair before styling it in a twist out or braid out. I can’t say it ruined any of my styles either, so I guess it’s just personal preference as I prefer more creamy leave in conditioners. But all in all, it’s still a great product and I love it’s fragrance and going by all the compliments I gained from the styles I wore when using the products it definitely gives the hair softness and shine.

2.5/5

Hair Growth and Thickening Elixir 

I decided to purchase this as I had just given birth and wanted something that could help me with any possible post-partum shedding that I could experience. After reading the reviews I was sold on it.

What it says it does 

Special organic blend to stimulate, revive and repair hair follicles. Speeds up hair growth and thickens hair.

  • Special organic blend to stimulate,revive and repair hair follicles
  • Speed up hair growth
  • Helps with traction alopecia and thin edges
  • Great for treating dandruff, psoriasis,dry scalp, itchy scalp or seborrhoeic dermatitis
  • Feeds your hair follicles to produce better quality hair
  • Contains organic aloe vera,seaweed,rosemary,nettle,organic castor oil,emu oil,hemp seed oil,ylang ylang,amla, biotin,basil, lemongrass & Baobab
  • Apply to scalp once a day
  • SUITABLE FOR ADULTS AND CHILDREN
  • 110ml

How did it work with my hair?

I didn’t use it very much lol. Now that I’ve identified some shedding I will incorporate it into my routine and see how I get on with it.

N/A

Overall Verdict

I love the packaging of the products and how easy they are to use. I also love that they do what they say on the packaging so there are no surprises other than how amazing they make your hair look and feel. For optimal results I definitely think using them as they are stated to be used is best but I also loved that because the ingredients and formulation of the products are so great I had freedom to use them in different ways. Plus the products play nice with other brands, so if you like to layer your products from different brands these products are great. You can check out some styles I achieved from my previous Wash Day Diary Post.

The only real objection that I can find with the products is their cost. In total everything I purchased cost me £120, only cost me £60. Now relatively speaking this may be expensive to some and affordable for others. I know that I won’t be making a purchase like that anytime soon. 

However, having tried these products and knowing what I love about them, I know I would purchase the Brazilian Butter Damage Reverse Treatment again. There are also a few other products I’ve seen that I’d love to try. Don’t let the price tag scare you off, just know that you are paying for the highest quality of handmade natural and organic hair care. 

Affordability 2.5/5

Effectiveness 5/5

Consistency 4/5

Disclaimer: As I’m sure you all know, just because something works for me that doesn’t mean that it will work for you and your hair. Please consider the ingredients in the product and whether your hair agrees with them. Also be cautious of any allergies to any ingredients that could be used in a product before making a purchase.

Leave a Reply

