Lifestyle · Motivation

Your Right to Freedom

As we’ve entered a new year, this is usually the time when many have made resolutions and some are still reflecting on the check and balance of their life and are asking themselves “how will this year be my year?” No matter where you are right now I implore you to be and stay encouraged.  

Many of us are figuring out our lives in comparison to our neighbours, maybe stuck in a rut and do the know how to get out, stuck in the slavery of our own minds and are still believing the lies we’ve been fed about a false depiction of ourselves. If this is you I must start by asking, do you know that freedom is your God given right? Do you know that you don’t have to accept, stay in and live in the cycle of slavery you’ve been sold as a false sense of freedom?

Whatever you have resolved to do in 2017, by the reasoning of your right to Freedom,  make sure the intent of it is rooted in the truth of who you really are. 

Because I know that who the son sets free is truly free Indeed (John 8:36), and I live according to the spirit of God without condemnation so I am free from my past and my thoughts of being unworthy of living a blessed life (Romans 8:1-4), I understand that I’ve been called to use my freedom to serve others humbly in love (Galatians 5:13-14), and to proclaim freedom to the oppressed (Luke 4:18). This is a truth I cannot deny.

So when I resolve to take better care of my body in 2017, I know the purpose of it is to be the best that I can be and honour my temple to be able to serve my loved ones and neighbours humbly in love. Or when I resolve to start that idea I have been fearful to start for months or even years, I know that through my courage to live a more purposeful life someone watching me will gain strength to no longer be oppressed by fear and their mind will begin to be renewed and they too will be encouraged to answer to the calling of their spirit, not just for themselves but for their families and community in the same way I have. 

Whatever you resolve to do this year, do it in the truth of freedom and not the bondage of jealousy, envy or comparison. And whatever you set your mind to do, stay the course and don’t give up.

Leave a Reply

